Skip to content

Ambulance staff recognised for dedication

Chief Executive Peter Bradley presenting Martyn Tillett with the Chief Ambulance Officer's CommendationA ceremony has been held to honour London Ambulance Service staff who have recently achieved 20 years’ service, those retiring from duty and one member of staff who went above and beyond the call of duty.

Members of frontline and support staff attended the event in Westminster on 23 February for the presentation of their certificates and medals.

Sixteen frontline staff received The Queen’s Ambulance Service Long Service and Good Conduct Medal and three support staff received the London Ambulance Service Medallion.

Fourteen retirees from across the Service received glass plaques, bells and a certificate.

Chief Executive Peter Bradley, who presented the awards, said: “All the staff receiving recognition here have shown great dedication and commitment, whether it is in reaching 20 years’ Service or the end of their career with us. It is this dedication that makes us the Service we are today and I’m very proud of that.”

Chief Ambulance Officer’s Commendation – Duty Station Officer Martyn Tillett

Tower Hamlets Duty Station Officer Martyn Tillett was awarded the Chief Ambulance Officer’s Commendation at the ceremony for his bravery and courage in protecting a member of the public from a violent attack.

In November 2009, Martyn was travelling back to station at the end of his shift when he saw a woman being attacked by a man in Whitechapel. Martyn quickly stepped in and pulled the man away; restraining him, despite the man becoming more violent and aggressive, until colleagues and the police arrived.

The man was arrested and one week later ordered to pay an £850 fine by Thames Magistrates’ Court and £350 for damage to the ambulance car caused during the struggle.

Chief Executive Peter Bradley said: “Martyn acted bravely and selflessly to protect a member of the public, and it makes me very proud to present him this award.”

– Ends –

Recipients of The Queen’s Ambulance Service (emergency duties) Long Service and Good Conduct Medal

  • Jim Agnew – Deptford
  • Andrew Cumner – Waterloo
  • David Hatchard – Urgent Operations Centre, Waterloo
  • Melanie Rogers – Urgent Operations Centre, Waterloo
  • Alison Horne – Croydon
  • Jamieson Maynard – Croydon
  • Martin Holmes – Camden
  • Kimberley Hurle – Becontree
  • Simon Lawrence – Becontree
  • Richard Lane – Sutton
  • Sally Pearce – Pinner
  • Paul Schofield – Mill Hill
  • Jeanette Spence – Lee
  • Christopher Tyler – Hillingdon
  • Mark Wickens – St Paul’s Cray

London Ambulance Service Medallion

  • Joseph Baird – Emergency Operations Centre, Waterloo
  • Anthony O’Hanlon – Emergency Operations Centre, Waterloo
  • Maura Irwin – South west London and St George’s

Retiring members of staff

  • David Hartshorn – Ilford – 42 years’ service
  • Ann Bolton – Ilford – 10 years’ service
  • Patrick McDermott – Hillingdon –33 years’ service
  • Leonard Godliman – Hanwell – 32 years’ service
  • Pauline Lee – Becontree – 30 years’ service
  • Graham King – Becontree – 30 years’ service
  • Michael Reeve – City & Hackney – 28 years’ service
  • Leonard Sinfield – Kenton – 37 years’ service
  • Dennis Heffernon – Sutton – 25 years’ service
  • Joyce Trop – St Helier – 20 years’ service
  • Edna Gunning – Brixton – 19 years’ service
  • Ann Whittington – Waterloo headquarters – 14 years’ service
  • Bentley Mason – Whipps Cross – 11 years’ service
  • John Williams – New Malden – 34 years’ service

Notes to editors:

  • For further information about the London Ambulance Service or this news release, or for high resolution photographs of the recipients, please contact the Communications Department on 020 7921 5113.
  • Follow us on Twitter at