Skip to content

Medals awarded for 20 years’ service

The London Ambulance Service has honoured 30 members of staff who have each clocked up 20 years of service.

The staff, who work at ambulance stations and support offices across London, were presented with certificates and medals at a ceremony in Westminster last Tuesday (11 March).

The Queen’s Medal for Long Service and Good Conduct was awarded to the 26 frontline staff members, whilst the final four (who each work in support services), were honoured with the London Ambulance Service Medallion.

Chief Executive Peter Bradley, who presented the awards, said: “Twenty years of service in any organisation is a long time, but in our service—the busiest ambulance service in the world—it is a special achievement. I respect all the staff who achieve this very important milestone and I also appreciate the behind the scenes support of all their families too.”

– Ends –

A full list of those who were awarded medals is below. Each person achieved 20 years of service between 1 April 2007 and 30 September 2007:

Queen’s Long Service and Good Conduct Medal:

  • Eileen Beard – Bromley Complex
  • David Houlden – Bromley Complex
  • Julia Peel – Bromley Complex
  • Glynis Phillips – Bromley Complex
  • Shaun Sullivan – Bromley Complex
  • Andrew Nord – Emergency Care Practitioners
  • Patrick Coyle – Emergency Operations Centre (HQ at Waterloo)
  • Paul Webster – Emergency Operations Centre (HQ at Waterloo)
  • Raymond Crooks – Fulham Education & Development
  • Alan Taylor – Fulham Education & Development
  • Graham Chalk – Helicopter Emergency Medical Service (HEMS)
  • Josh Ryan – Isleworth Complex
  • Michael Light – New Malden Complex
  • Tracy Pidgeon – Oval Complex
  • Jay Gardner – Pinner Complex
  • Kevin Toland – Pinner Complex
  • Darren Weston – Pinner Complex
  • Neil Birchmore – Romford Complex
  • Ralph Farrugia – Urgent Operations Centre (HQ at Waterloo)
  • Paul Davies – Waterloo Complex
  • Chris Hartley-Sharpe – Waterloo Complex
  • Josef Kane – Waterloo Complex
  • Christine Masson – Waterloo Complex
  • Julia Pitts – Whipps Cross Complex
  • John Warwick – Whipps Cross Complex
  • Anthony West – Wimbledon Complex

London Ambulance Service Medallion:

  • Annette Dibley-Harper – Patient Transport Service
  • Robert Littell – Patient Transport Service
  • Dr Auberon Redfearn – Emergency Bed Service
  • Andy White – Emergency Planning Unit

In addition to the 30 names above, seven other members of staff who have recently retired from the Service were also present at the awards ceremony to receive recognition for their long service:

  • Michael Golding – retired May 2007
  • Hugh Jarvis – retired July 2007
  • David Leahy – retired May 2007
  • Joseph McCann – retired June 2007
  • Geoffrey Rendall – retired May 2007
  • Frances Sharp – retired August 2007
  • Patrick Walsh – retired May 2007

Notes to editors:

  • For further information about the London Ambulance Service or this news release please contact the communications department on 020 7921 5113. 
  • Pictures are available on request.