Skip to content

Best of the bunch honoured at London Ambulance Service Awards

The London Ambulance Service held its annual awards ceremony in London recently to honour the work of its most exceptional members of staff.

All of the nominees were voted for by the people who know them best—their colleagues. Nominators were asked to put forward the names of workmates who they felt had gone above and beyond the call of duty over the last year, from those whose ideas have improved patient care to those whose positive attitude and ‘can-do’ approach has made a big difference day-to-day.

Service Chief Executive Peter Bradley and South West London Strategic Health Authority Chief Executive Julie Dent presented the awards to the winners and runners-up in the following categories:

Trainer of the year
Winner: John Doyle, Training officer, New Malden
Highly commended: Gary Ralph, Sector Training Officer, Edmonton

Manager of the year
Winner: James Gummett, Quality Assurance, CAC
Highly commended: Gary Bassett, PALS Manager

Support Staff Person of the Year
Winner: Matilde Aguilera, Camden Station Administrator
Highly commended: Andy Nicholls, Hanwell Station Administrator

Special Achievement Award
Winner: Dennis Bonner, Make Ready Supervisor, Newham

Patient Transport Service Person of the Year
Winner: Ros Jones, Co-ordinator, Queen Mary’s Hospital
Highly commended: Chris Burry, Crew Team Leader, Queen Elizabeth Hospital

Central Ambulance Control Person of the Year
Winner: Peter Whalley, Emergency Medical Dispatcher Three
Highly commended: Nick Margareto, Emergency Medical Dispatcher Three

Accident & Emergency Person of the Year
Two winners:
Graham Watkins, Paramedic/FRU Co-ordinator, Barnehurst
Eddie Daley, Team Leader, Waterloo
Highly commended: Steve Jones, Motorcycle Paramedic, Waterloo

The Anthony Baddeley Memorial Award
Winner: Abbas Mirza, Emergency Medical Technician, Hillingdon
Highly commended: Jennifer Layland, Emergency Medical Technician, Friern Barnet

Commenting on this year’s awards, Mr Bradley said: “These awards are an opportunity for us to thank staff for their commitment and dedication over the last year. It’s appropriate that all of the nominees were suggested by staff as they work with these outstanding individuals every day and experience first-hand the difference that their hard work makes to the Service and the patients we treat.” 

This year a special award was introduced honouring the late Anthony Baddeley, an emergency medical technician from Friern Barnet Ambulance Station who passed away shortly after completing his first year of service. The award, presented by Anthony’s father, was given to a new recruit that had performed outstandingly during their first 12 months with the Service.

The awards would not have been made possible without support and funding from the event sponsors, Mercedes-Benz, Capita, Microbus, MacNeillie, LRS, Hotel Ibis London Earls Court, CBF Group PLC and the Baddeley family.

– Ends –

Notes to editors

  • The London Ambulance Service Awards were held at the Brewery in London on Friday 24 June.
  • Further details on the winners can be found in the document attached.
  • The London Ambulance Service is the largest free ambulance service in the world, caring for more than a million patients every year. It is the only London-wide NHS Trust, serving approximately 620 square miles, from Heathrow in the west to Upminster in the east, and Enfield in the north to Purley in the south.
  • For further information about the London Ambulance Service or this news release please contact Alison Kerry in the communications department on 020 7921 5113.